Ohio Education Association Candidate Endorsements

Ohio’s (second) Primary Election Day is upon us, and it is more important now than ever that educators across Ohio turn out to the polls to make their voices heard and ensure pro-public education candidates advance to the General Election. Please make a plan to vote on August 2nd. You can look up your polling location here.

Click here to look up your current legislative district under the latest state maps.

As part of your voting plan, we urge all OEA members to check out the preliminary list of candidates recommended by the OEA members below. Many more candidate recommendations will be made after the Primary, so please continue to check for updates.

It is important to note that OEA members across the state—not OEA staff or leaders—make all the endorsement decisions. In each race, candidates from both parties are asked to fill out questionnaires describing their positions on education issues, and those who are state officeholders are also rated on their education votes in the General Assembly. Candidates are then interviewed by OEA members who work in the district or area in which candidates are seeking office. Based on the candidate’s views on public education issues—and only on public education issues—the OEA Fund State Council and District Screening Committees vote on whether to endorse specific candidates.

You can learn more about the OEA Fund and the screening process here.

Statewide Seat Endorsed Candidate
Governor/ Lt. Governor Nan Whaley (D)/Cheryl Shephens (D)
Attorney General Jeffery Crossman (D)
Secretary of State NO POSITION
Auditor of State NO POSITION
Treasurer of State Scott Schertzer (D)
US Senate Endorsed Candidate
US Senate – OH Tim Ryan (D)
Judicial Seat Endorsed Candidate
Chief Justice of the OH Supreme Court Justice Jennifer Bruner (D)
Associate Justice of the OH Supreme Court Judge Marilyn Zayas (D)
Associate Justice of the OH Supreme Court Judge Terri Jamison (D)
Ohio House Endorsed Candidate
District 1 Dontavius Jerrells (D)
District 5 Richard Brown (D)
District 6 Adam Miller (D)
District 7 Allison Russo (D)
District 8 Beth Lison (D)
District 14 Sean Brennan (D)
District 16 Bride Rose Sweeny (D)
District 17 Tom Patton (R)
District 19 Phil Robinson (D)
District 23 Dan Tory (D)
District 28 Jessica Miranda (D)
District 30 Bill Seitz (R)
District 34 Casey Weinstein (D)
District 38 William Blackshear Jr. (D)
District 48 Scott Oelslager (R)
District 49 Thomas West (D)
District 52 Gayle Manning (R)
District 53 Joe Miller (R)
District 75 Haraz Ghanbari (R)
District 77 Susan Manchester (R)
Ohio Senate Endorsed Candidate
District 13 Nathan Manning (R)
District 15 Hercel Craig (D)
District 21 Kent Smith (D)
District 23 Nickie Antonio (D)
District 29 Kirk Schuring (R)
U.S. Congress Endorsed Candidate
District 1 Joyce Beatty (D)
District 9 Marci Kaptur (D)
District 11 Shontel Brown (D)

Oh Yes, We’re Social — Join the Conversation!

Updated August 1, 2022


Legislative Issues