Governor Strickland’s Appointment Of New SBOE Members

COLUMBUS — January 12, 2009 — Ohio Education Association President Patricia Frost-Brooks issued the following statement today commending Governor Strickland’s appointment of new State Board of Education members Dennis Reardon, Tracey Smith, Martha Harris and Danny Greene:

“Governor Strickland has made thoughtful choices in his appointment of new Ohio State Board of Education members. I am confident these four appointees are committed to high standards, believe in effective oversight and transparency, and will be strong public servants who will support and strengthen Ohio’s public education system for all Ohio students.

These individuals will bring strong backgrounds and diverse public education experience to the Board. They include former teachers, a former local school board member and a former education association executive. The Ohio Education Association will continue to support these new appointees and looks forward to working with them and the entire State Board of Education to provide great public schools for every child.”



Join the conversation @OhioEA and Like Us at OhioEducationAssociation


The Ohio Education Association ( represents 121,000 teachers, faculty members and support professionals in Ohio’s public schools, colleges and universities.


CONTACT: Michele Prater
614-227-3071; cell 614-378-0469,


2009 Press Releases