Ohio Education Association Endorses State Board Of Education Candidates

COLUMBUS — October 9, 2008 — The Ohio Education Association (OEA) Fund for Children and Public Education (FCPE) State Convention announced its endorsements of State Board of Education Candidates for the November 4, 2008, statewide ballot.

“Our candidates have demonstrated that they support public education and working with teachers and public school students.  We believe these candidates will support our effort to create great public schools in Ohio,” said OEA President Patricia Frost-Brooks.

OEA Recommended State Board of Education Candidates

District 1 (Northwest Ohio)           Tracey Smith
District 5 (Exurban Cleveland)           Richard Javorek
District 6 (Columbus Metro)           Kristen McKinley
District 7 (Northeastern Ohio)         Heather Heslop Licata
District 9 (Southeastern Ohio)            Michael Collins
District 10 (Southern Ohio)                Jane Sonenshein
District 11 (Cleveland)                      Martha Harris

The State Board of Education is a crucial body, setting many policies around school curriculum, professional development, educational licenses and much more.  Of the 19 members of the board, 11 are elected, and eight are appointed by the Governor.  The elections and appointments are for four-year terms. According to Frost-Brooks, “Educators will be well served by OEA’s endorsement of these candidates based upon their vision for public education in Ohio.”


Join the conversation @OhioEA and Like Us at OhioEducationAssociation


The Ohio Education Association (ohea.org) represents 121,000 teachers, faculty members and support professionals in Ohio’s public schools, colleges and universities.


CONTACT: Michele Prater
614-227-3071; cell 614-378-0469, praterm@ohea.org


2008 Press Releases