Thank Your Representative for Supporting HB 239 — Testing Reduction Act

Thank you

On Wednesday, May 8, 2019, the Testing Reduction Act (HB 239) was introduced in the Ohio House.

The bill, sponsored by Representatives Gayle Manning (R- North Ridgeville) and Erica Crawley (D- Columbus), makes important changes to Ohio law to reduce state-required testing and bring together teachers, parents and administrators in each school district to recommend ways in which the testing load on students can be reduced.  OEA strongly supports this legislation.

Nineteen bipartisan legislators from throughout Ohio have signed onto this important bill.  In addition to the lead sponsors, the following Representatives are co-sponsors of HB 239:

  • Janine Boyd (D- Cleveland Heights)
  • Sara Carruthers (R-Hamilton)
  • Jeffrey Crossman (D- Parma)
  • Steve Hambley (R-Brunswick)
  • Brett Hillyer (R-Uhrichsville)
  • Don Jones (R- Freeport)
  • Brigid Kelly (D- Cincinnati)
  • Bernadine Kent (D-Columbus)
  • David Leland (D- Columbus)
  • Jessica Miranda (D- Forest Park)
  • Michael O’Brien (D-Warren)
  • John Patterson (D-Jefferson)
  • Craig Riedel (R- Defiance)
  • Phillip Robinson (D- Solon)
  • John Rogers (D-Mentor-on-the-Lake)
  • Lisa Sobecki (D- Toledo)
  • Thomas West (D-Canton)

Thanks to the representatives for cosponsoring this bill, it’s important that we recognize legislators who are standing up for our students and schools!